Great American Annuity Reviews

See what some of our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find annuities that are easier to understand, helping to achieve your goals with no surprises.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what some of our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!

"I’m especially impressed with the quick help I received with my request to withdraw funds during these hard COVID times."

Anonymous on Dec 27, 2020

"The team at Great American helped me through the whole process. Every rep I spoke with was very nice!"

— Anonymous on Dec 22, 2020

"Customer service was outstanding. You made dealing with paperwork at such a sad time so much easier."

— Tambra S. on Dec 16, 2020

"Your forms are clear and I really appreciate that."

— Sandra L. on Dec 1, 2020

"I called for help to fill out the requested form and the rep who helped me was excellent. It's a seven-page form & I didn't want to make any mistakes of withdrawal. The rep was patient, knowledgeable and super pleasant."

Eugenia S. on Nov 24, 2020

"My lack of confidence is not with Great American but with the whole process of doing the required RMD for a 403b. For a senior, I find the process of securing the correct forms, forwarding them to a third-party administrator and then on to you very cumbersome and wish it were an automatic process."

We know plan administrator requirements can be frustrating. We’re always available to help our policyholders work through any questions!

— Roberta M. on Nov 16, 2020

"Representative listened well, was very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions in a professional manner. I was highly satisfied!"

— Anonymous on Nov 6, 2020

"Thank you for working with me and having my best interest at heart."

— Shirley K. on Nov 2, 2020

"Each customer service representative that I have spoken to this week has been extremely professional and courteous. I appreciate them taking the time to listen and figuring out how to assist me. Kudos to you for hiring the best-of-the-best."

Deidre T. on Oct 29, 2020

"I have had good service with Great American for 40 years."

— Anonymous on Oct 9, 2020

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed October 28, 2020 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed March 4, 2021. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn more about Great American Annuities.

Tell us about your experience

Submit Feedback