Great American Annuity Reviews

See what our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find annuities that are easier to understand, helping to achieve your goals with no surprises.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!


— Jeff J. on Jun 18, 2019

"Your attention to our family and the speed at which you have completed these claims is unheard of. I just want to thank everyone for their help and support."

"Great American has been extremely responsive to any request that I have made. All questions are answered quickly and accurately. It was a great move to switch my 403(b) plan to Great American."

Bettye G. on Jun 12, 2019

— Anonymous on Jun 6, 2019

“It would be nice to have revised forms emailed to us when they are adopted to avoid having to complete forms twice”

While we currently don’t send email notices for revised forms, you can download up-to-date forms anytime by logging into your account at GAIGannuities.com!


— Randall V. on Jun 5, 2019

"Very prompt in handling requests. Also, your website provides everything to handle all of my needs."


— Anonymous on May 29, 2019

"The wait time on the phone to speak with a customer service representative was the shortest I experienced with any other annuity company. The customer service representative was very courteous and helpful. The processing time on my fund request was excellent."


— Wendy L. on May 21, 2019

"People at Great American went out of their way to be helpful about the claims process. It was deeply appreciated."

"My experience with Great American was excellent and I will always recommend your company to friends and anyone who is interested in annuities! Thank you for your service."

Steven S. on May 3, 2019

— Elizabeth W. on Apr 23, 2019

“I dislike having to be approved by my employer because my employer does not contribute to my annuity.”

We know plan administrator requirements can be frustrating. We’re always available to help work through any questions!

“I would like to say that Great American staff were extremely helpful to me in dealing with a claim for my father. It is a very trying time for me and I was somewhat overwhelmed by everything that I needed to get done. You made things so much easier for me. Thanks so much.”

Pamela M. on Apr 11, 2019

— Anonymous on Apr 9, 2019

“I appreciate the emails as to where the process is. Turnaround time is faster than expected.”

Tell us about your experience

Submit Feedback

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed August 17, 2018 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed March 14, 2019. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn more about Great American Annuities.

Rating Key

Extremely satisfied

Very satisfied

Neutral

Somewhat satisfied

Not at all satisfied