Great American Annuity Reviews

See what some of our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find annuities that are easier to understand, helping to achieve your goals with no surprises.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what some of our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!

"I called for help to fill out the requested form and the rep who helped me was excellent. It's a seven-page form & I didn't want to make any mistakes of withdrawal. The rep was patient, knowledgeable and super pleasant."

Eugenia S. on Nov 24, 2020

"My lack of confidence is not with Great American but with the whole process of doing the required RMD for a 403b. For a senior, I find the process of securing the correct forms, forwarding them to a third-party administrator and then on to you very cumbersome and wish it were an automatic process."

We know plan administrator requirements can be frustrating. We’re always available to help our policyholders work through any questions!

— Roberta M. on Nov 16, 2020

"Representative listened well, was very knowledgeable and answered all of my questions in a professional manner. I was highly satisfied!"

— Anonymous on Nov 6, 2020

"Thank you for working with me and having my best interest at heart."

— Shirley K. on Nov 2, 2020

"Each customer service representative that I have spoken to this week has been extremely professional and courteous. I appreciate them taking the time to listen and figuring out how to assist me. Kudos to you for hiring the best-of-the-best."

Deidre T. on Oct 29, 2020

"I have had good service with Great American for 40 years."

— Anonymous on Oct 9, 2020

"I spoke with lots of people at Great American and everyone was so knowledgeable and pleasant. Thanks for the great experience."

— Julie C. on Oct 7, 2020

"I have been a client for several years. Adding the chat ability to your platform has made communication with Great American very much improved. Thank you for that."

Anne C. on Sep 29, 2020

"I have always been extremely pleased with the service I receive from your company. I am certainly happy I decided to have an account with Great American. Thank you from your very satisfied customer."

— Keith Y. on Sep 8, 2020

"My representative was extremely friendly and most helpful. She answered immediately, unlike many other companies where I have been put on hold with wait times of over 30 minutes or longer. She assisted me with my request efficiently and professionally in a most friendly and appealing tone. She was GREAT! I hope you have a lot like her!"

— Anonymous on Aug 12, 2020

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed September 11, 2019 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed March 5, 2020. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn more about Great American Annuities.

Tell us about your experience

Submit Feedback