Great American Annuity Reviews

See what some of our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find annuities that are easier to understand, helping to achieve your goals with no surprises.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what some of our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!

"This account was handled through a third party administrator and they did a poor job of keeping touch with me. I only heard from them once after I set up the account almost ten years ago. I would possibly use Great American again, but not through a third party."

We know plan administrator requirements can be frustrating. We’re always available to help our policyholders work through any questions!

— Anonymous on Jul 17, 2019

"Great website; easy to navigate. Overall, an excellent experience."

— Bonnie E. on Jul 12, 2019

"I appreciate the expediency you exercised to process my claim and how you reached out to me to clarify my questions. You definitely went out of your way to reach out to me. Thank you!"

— Leshia R. on Jul 3, 2019

"Your attention to our family and the speed at which you have completed these claims is unheard of. I just want to thank everyone for their help and support."

— Jeff J. on Jun 18, 2019

"Great American has been extremely responsive to any request that I have made. All questions are answered quickly and accurately. It was a great move to switch my 403(b) plan to Great American."

Bettye G. on Jun 12, 2019

“It would be nice to have revised forms emailed to us when they are adopted to avoid having to complete forms twice”

While we currently don’t send email notices for revised forms, you can download up-to-date forms anytime by logging into your account at GAIGannuities.com!

— Anonymous on Jun 6, 2019

"Very prompt in handling requests. Also, your website provides everything to handle all of my needs."

— Randall V. on Jun 5, 2019

"The wait time on the phone to speak with a customer service representative was the shortest I experienced with any other annuity company. The customer service representative was very courteous and helpful. The processing time on my fund request was excellent."

— Anonymous on May 29, 2019

"People at Great American went out of their way to be helpful about the claims process. It was deeply appreciated."

— Wendy L. on May 21, 2019

"My experience with Great American was excellent and I will always recommend your company to friends and anyone who is interested in annuities! Thank you for your service."

Steven S. on May 3, 2019

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed September 11, 2019 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed March 5, 2020. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn more about Great American Annuities.

Tell us about your experience

Submit Feedback