Great American Annuity Reviews

See what some of our customers are saying.

At Great American Insurance Group, our goal is to simplify your path to financial security. You can find annuities that are easier to understand, helping to achieve your goals with no surprises.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, our Customer Service representatives strive to provide friendly, knowledgeable and timely service to each of our 500,000+ contract owners.

Here’s what some of our customers are saying about their experience with Great American!

“Withdrawal request was handled expeditiously, thanks.”

— Doug R. on Feb 19, 2019

“The website is incredibly user-friendly and the associates I have interacted with have likewise been extremely helpful.”

— Ronnie S. on Feb 18, 2019

“Great, friendly people to deal with. Super-fast times on transactions. Wow! Can’t say enough how happy I am with Great American. Thanks!”

— Anonymous on Feb 2, 2019

“Where is my 1099? I received a letter stating that this document is now available, but I can’t find it anywhere!”

If a 1099 is available for your contract, you can find it by logging into GAIGAnnuities.com. Once you’re there, go to “My Balances” and click on “View Details.” Next, select “Tax Documents” on the left side of the screen.

— Anonymous on Jan 25, 2019

“Thanks for making the filing of paperwork relatively easy – didn't have to get an attorney to read it for us.”

— Micheal G. on Jan 16, 2019

“I’m very satisfied. Thank you for making it easy during this time of loss.”

— Shirley B. on Jan 8, 2019

“I called to get some help filing for my 2018 RMD. I was amazed that it was so fast and easy. The young lady I spoke with knew all the answers and I was done in record time. She was wonderfully helpful and most polite and thoughtful. When I finished, I handed the phone to my husband and she proceeded to help him take care of his RMD. He was equally satisfied.”

Mary S. on Jan 5, 2019

“Although some insurance companies reacted faster, Great American was right there with information and assistance when needed. Thank you, Great American.”

— Anonymous on Jan 1, 2019

“Easy to work with. I am impressed that my request is being processed so quickly without any issues. I’m very pleased with the service so far.”

— Cathy G. on Dec 31, 2018

“Each person that I’ve dealt with at Great American has been compassionate, competent and most willing to clearly answer any questions that I might have had. The journey to transfer my mom’s annuity to my brother and I has gone flawlessly so far and I want to thank the staff members of Great American for the kindness and professionalism that they have shown me.”

Richard K. on Dec 27, 2018

Financial Strength You Can Count On

Our annuity companies are proud to be rated:

  • “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best
  • “A+” by Standard & Poor’s

A.M. Best rating affirmed September 11, 2019 and is third highest of 16 ratings. Standard & Poor’s rating affirmed March 5, 2020. Ratings apply to Great American Life Insurance Company and Annuity Investors Life Insurance Company.

Learn more about Great American Annuities.

Tell us about your experience

Submit Feedback